## Government of West Bengal Higher Education Department

(University Branch) Bikash Bhavan, Bidhannagar, Kolkata - 700091.

No.1040-Edn(U)/CU-10/99

## **NOTIFICATION**

In exercise of the powers conferred under clause (b)&(c) of sub-section (1) of Section 8, of the Calcutta University Act, 1979 [as amended by the West Bengal University Laws (amendment) Acts of 2011, 2012 and 2014, the Governor is pleased to constitute the 'Search Committee' for recommending a panel of names for the post of Vice-Chancellor of Calcutta University, consisting of the following members:

- 1. Shri Ved Prakash, Chairman of UGC—Chancellor's Nominee, who shall be the Chairperson of the Committee
- 2. Professor Abhirup Sarkar, Professor, Indian Statistical Institute—State Government's Nominee
- 3. Dr. Santanu Bhattacharya, Director, Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur-Nominee of the Senate, University of Calcutta
- 2. The Governor has also been pleased to decide that secretarial assistance to the Committee will be provided by the Registrar, Calcutta University and the related expenditure for this purpose (like travelling allowances, office expenses, etc.) too shall be borne by the University.
- 3) The Registrar, Calcutta University under intimation to this Department, shall contact the Search Committee at the earliest and provide assistance in discharge of its functions.

Principal Secretary to the Government of WestBengal, Higher Education Department

No. 1040 /1(3)- Edn(U)/CU-10/99

Date:13.12.2016

Date: 13.12.2016

 ${\it Copy forwarded for information and necessary \ action \ to:}$ 

- 1. The Registrar, Calcutta University
- 2. Officer-on-Special duty & Ex-officio Special Secretary to the Governor of West Bengal, Raj Bhavan, Kolkata-700062
- 3. P.S. to Minister-in-Charge, Higher Education Department.

Joint Secretary